World Premiere for Ein Körnchen Sands

Without any doubt, the Covid-19 pandemic has put a strain on the concert production sector. You have to deal with various government provisions, sanitation of the environments, lack of audience and cutting of funds, in order to keep an art alive.

As a composer, finding yourself in this situation means having almost zero commissions, fewer executions, difficulties (if not impossibility) in participating in person in the preparation of a piece. This is such a frustrating scenario.

Hoping that all this will end very soon, all that remains is to consider yourself lucky when in such a moment you have the opportunity to have a world premiere. Despite the asepticity of a rehearsal followed by videocall from thousands of kilometers away, the impossibility of communicating directly with the musicians, hearing the music that for months remained exclusively in your head is a blessing.

Ein Körnchen Sands will have its world premiere on Sunday 22 November 2020 at 16:00 (GMT) and will be performed by the skilled hands of the musicians of the Birmingham Contemporary Music Group. In particular:

Logo of BCGM

Patricia Auchterlonie | mezzo soprano
John Reid | piano
Ulrich Heinen | cello

The piece will be performed as part of the Words from Abroad concert, voices and words, past and present, create new musical landscapes in this contemporary classical music concert that celebrates the poet Paul Celan on the centenary of his birth. Birmingham Contemporary Music Group presents the world premiere of the winning pieces of the International Composition Competition in collaboration with Ensemble O / Modernt. The program also features the world premiere of Couplet, by composer Donghoon Shin, a work commissioned in response to the pandemic; and works by composers Param Vir (music on verse by Tagore) and Christopher Fox (inspired by a poem by James Felton).

At the following link it will be possible to buy tickets at the price of 15 £, but you are entitled to a 30% discount using the code CELAN.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.